Grammy Nominated Reggae Legends “Third World” an insight.

When you speak of Reggae Music and it’s consistency over the years look no further than at Jamaican Reggae legends Third World; one of the longest lived Reggae Bands in the world. They are one of five nominees at the 2020 Grammy Awards in the Reggae Category for their brand new album “More Work To Be Done”

Third World was formed in 1973 with members guitarist Stephen “Cat” Coore, and key board player Michael “Ibo” Cooper who in turn recruited bassist Richard Daley, percussionist Irvin “Carrot” Jarrett, singer Milton “Prilly” Hamilton and drummer Carl Barovier. They were signed by Island Records in the early 70’s and toured Europe with The Wailers.

Third World’s self titled album was released in 1976 where cover track “Satta Massagana” became a hit in Jamaica. William “Bunny Rugs” Clarke and drummer Willie Stewart joined the band (replacements for Hamilton and Barovier) and the second album “96 Degrees In The Shades” was recorded. The hits began then! Sadly Bunny Rugs died February 2nd 2014 and Carrot Jarrett died July 1st 2018 (although he had left the band). The band reinvented itself with Stephen “Cat” Coore and Richard Daley remaining an institute in the band.

Moving forward to present day, Third World has 9 Grammy nominations and catalogue of charted smash hits, including (“Now That We Found Love””96 Degrees in the Shade” and “Try Jah Love”), spanning over four decades, sold-out tours, a vibrant and loyal fan base and inspirational messages, one may wonder, What gives Third World the staying power so rare in the music industry?” 

With 2 Lifetime Achievement Awards adding to the nominations, Third World is celebrating 45 years in the music business and continues to tour worldwide. Current single “You’re Not The Only One” featuring Damian “Jr Gong” Marley producer of the album “More Work To Be Done”.

Current band members are:

  • Stephen “Cat” Coore – guitars, cello (1973–present)
  • Richard Daley – bass (1973–present)
  • Tony “Ruption” Williams – drums (1997–present)
  • Norris “Noriega” Webb – keyboards (2007–present)
  • Maurice Gregory – keyboard (2010–present)
  • AJ Brown – vocals (2014–present)

Photo credits: Reggaeville, Patricia Meschino (Billboard), Third World


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s